Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia

The Night the Lights Went Out in Georgia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve always had this thing for songs that tell a story. I mean, really tell a story.  Two that come to mind are “Fancy” by Bobby Gentry and “The Night The Lights Went Out in Georgia” by Vicki Lawrence. Yes, Reba McIntyre did both of those songs as well, but I really prefer the originals, especially “Fancy”.

I’ve always wanted to expound on the stories told in these songs and actually have a book about them.  I think The “Night The Lights Went Out In Georgia” has one of the coolest stories. Violent, but cool.  It reminds me of Carnal Innocence by Nora Roberts. If you are interested in that, read the book, don’t watch the Lifetime movie. While the movie was sort of fun, it was seriously lacking.  Read the book.

Anyways, I want to turn some of these songs into books.  Another couple I love are Taylor Swift’s “Love Story” and “You Belong With Me”.  Okay, part of what makes those songs come to life are the music videos.

That’s another thing.  There are several music videos that tell the greatest story, even though the song might not.  Katy Perry’s “Wide Awake” comes to mind as a recent song that has a great plot…  Okay, the weird maze part mostly.  It makes me think of a maiden, or princess.  Why is she there?  Where is she going?  Will she get out?

I never know if I will ever be able to write a story based on any of these things, but I do so want to.  I know it’s crazy since I have a million other things to write about, but  hey, my head needs to have some things to think about.

Does anyone else ever want to tell the story that is in a song?  Or do they see a story in a music video? I’m not alone in this am I?

Writing on

~K.L.B.

