Procrastination Is No Excuse

After a day of laundry, laundry, laundry, setting up a new bed for my sister, cleaning, making lunch, and numerous other little tasks, I’ve yet to accomplish any writing of any sort.  I had plans.  Serious plans, even though I knew that I would not be able to get to those plans due to the amount of ‘stuff’ I had to do today.  However, this helps to introduce the topic I started working on yesterday.

Day dreaming needs to be added in here

I am always a procrastinator when it comes to writing.  Like  what Albert Berg wrote about yesterday, if I don’t have much time to devote to writing, I put it off.  I liked what he said here.

“But the one I think has stuck with me most of all was this: “You can do a lot of dishes in five minutes.” It was her way of saying, “Don’t worry if you don’t have a lot of time, just get done what you can. You might surprise yourself.”

I think this is great advice for writers too. Often times, I set myself some big writing goal, and then things happen in my day that make it impossible to fulfill that goal. And how do I react? I don’t write at all.”

I would highly recommend his post “Mom’s Homemade Writing Advice”

I tell myself, “I’ll do it later.” Now, granted, this is a statement I use plenty in life.  I am or have been the Queen of Procrastination for as long as I can remember.  I’m very good at it.  So putting off writing should come as no surprise.  Funny thing about it is that I feel extremely guilty when I don’t write.  For example, I ended up reading this.

Yup, that's me.

“I write a whole lot. The actual word count doesn’t matter, but it’s enough that writing is basically my full time job. Most days I work and write from 9 to 5 or 6. But other days, I don’t write anything beyond tweets and bullshit.

Those days are the worst. I grumble, I moan, I whine to my lady. I feel like I’m not doing enough work. And desperately I try to write something meaningful, and then the next day I feel tired and burnt out; I don’t want to write.

I suspect I’m not the only one who’s been there. For those of us who are trying to break into freelancing or even just write novels, writer’s guilt is a very real and potentially dangerous thing.”

Austin Wulf had it right when he said this yesterday. You can read his whole post here.  “How to Deal with Writer’s Guilt”

Surprisingly, both of these posts go together extremely well.  One, you feel guilty for not writing, but wait!  There is a solution to that.  Write for a brief amount of time.  So, you didn’t get the ten pages you were hoping for. (This would be incredibly ambitions of me as I ‘m lucky if I get two pages typed up at one time.)  Instead, you get a couple hundred words.  Or you work on plotting, outlining, whatever.  Something still gets accomplished.  Now whether or not I ever get any of those things done will still be a feat unto itself. I  generally type up random bits that never go anywhere.  If I ever complete a novel, flying pigs will play croquet in the sky.  Hence why children’s picture books seem to be my forte. I can actually finish one.

However, I even put of writing the children’s books  do to the, “I don’t have much time”.  I’m trying to work on that.  I carry paper or a notebook with me wherever I go.  Just in case.  And I try to jot down ideas when I get them, but even still, my new notebook I got in November barely has half a page of scribbles.  I keep a lot in my head.  Wich in the scope of things is really bad. I know I will forget them at some point.  I like to mull over things for a long while before I type or write them up.  I don’t think that I can count  ‘thinking about things’ as writing, though.   Because, duh, I’m a writer, not a thinker.

So my goal is to write as much as I can when I have a brief moment.  The hard part will to not get distracted by internet, books I’m reading, a show I get distracted watching, and any number of distractions.  This is also another reason I procrastinate.  I get easily distracted.

Well, at least I have the positive words of other bloggers.  Bloggers who light a fire under my….  Or help me to get the ink flowing.

Writing on

~K.L.B.

2 thoughts on “Procrastination Is No Excuse

  1. Pingback: Time to be a Writer… « Perfectly Prompted!

  2. Pingback: Time to Become a Writer… « Perfectly Prompted!

Leave a Reply

