It’s In The Details… Maybe

Do you ever find yourself reading a book and thinking to yourself, “I could write that better.” ?  Generally speaking, I don’t feel the need to look at a book like that.  I’m happy or astounded, as the case may be, with what a writer has come up with.  Most of the time I read in awe, wishing I had half the talent to come up with such an engaging story.  however, there are times when I’ll read a book and know I could come up with a way better story.  Arrogant of me, isn’t it?  Especially considering I’ve yet to finish any story that I know of.  But that is beside the point.  I know I could do it better.

Right now I am reading one of Laura Childs’ Tea Shop Mystery books, The Jasmine Moon Murder.  This is #5 in the series, and I have not read any of the others.  Yeah, I know, I’m starting pretty far into the series.  Any ways, sure, the book isn’t bad, and I’m betting they are pretty popular.  However, that doesn’t mean it’s a great book.  Now, you have to realize, first off, I’m not much of a murder/mystery type person.  Though, at times I will read one here or there.  And I really don’t have anything against the murder, the characters, or the setting.  They’re all pretty good.

It’s just everything else so far.

Details that have whole paragraphs dedicated to them, but are not really necessary, and I find myself just skipping over them.  They are that boring, so that I just can’t bring myself to read the whole paragraph.

Details are important.  As a writer, details are what make the story real.  If you don’t have the right details, then the reader just won’t be able to connect to the story; the characters.

Richard Castle mentioned it on a recent episode of ABC’s Castle.  Though at this moment I can’t recall either the exact statement or episode to reference it by.  The line was along the thought of how important it is as a writer we get the details right so that the reader knows exactly what we are describing.

Yet there are times when sometimes the details get in the way of the story.  On the whole, I would say that women authors are notorious for extra, added details.  We go overboard on describing a character, down to how they wear their shoes.  (Though, being a woman, I can state with complete confidence that shoes are a very big thing.)  Most male writers are not as wordy as us girls. Unless you are talking Zane Gray, and that is another completely different topic, as I wonder if Zane was really a guy….

So, it is possible that Ms. Childs is just trying to describe everything perfectly so her reader gets the picture.  I’m just finding areas that are unnecessary to the plot, bogging it down, and at times, adding ‘cuteness’ where cute does not belong.

Unfortunately, I can’t ask Ms. Childs what she is thinking and writing, nor am I that worried about it.  I think that to certain people, her books would appeal to them.  Obviously as she has quite a few under her belt.  I just am not sure they are my cup of tea.  No pun intended.  Be that as it may, I’m still interested in finishing this book and reading a couple of others.  Partly because of the gorgeous covers, the tea factor of the books, and the recipes at the end.

Now, what is with tea being all the rage now? (Another topic for another time.)

Writing on

~K.L.B

Leave a Reply

