A Picture Is Worth…..

They say a picture is worth a thousand words.  How true the statement is.  So many times I have seen a picture of something and it is everything I want to write about.  Okay, technically that is backwards to the statement.  Maybe it should be, A picture is worth or the same as a thousand words.”  Yeah, see it just doesn’t have the same ring. 

Okay, moving on.

I have seen so many pictures that just take my breath away and immediately create a whole story.  Or something I want to write about.  And it may be something as simple as a castle ruin on a hill, (Bing from a while ago) or as detailed as a really detailed picture can be.  Yes, I know, that was not the world’s best prose.

Not long ago I started reading a book titled, “The Last Time I Was Me“, strictly because I loved the cover of the book.  A picture of a woman lounging in an old wooden row boat.  Now the book wasn’t all that great, and I never finished it, but that one picture settled into my mind and I created a whole character and story for her.  Whether or not it goes anywhere is beside the point.  Sometimes just the creating is the fun part. 

But it was that picture that did it for me.  And it happens to me all the time.  Which is why I keep the House Beautiful’s and Martha Stewart’s.  See post here.  A picture will create a story.

These past few weeks I’ve been working on something that requires scenes in the story that I’m not always the best at writing.  And I have been struggling to get it to work to no avail.  The ideas just kind of stagnate and sound really bad.  I was at a lost to know how to finish.  Then there was that famous lightbulb moment.  Okay, actually I didn’t have the lightbulb for a while.

I was on my tumblr account looking at pictures of something and suddenly I found a picture that was, while not exactly what I was writing about, similar to what I needed.  It had aspects of what I wanted and it has helped to give a boost.  Not that I’ve finished, or that it’s helped completely, but it’s given the spark to continue.  And I know I will be able to find more pictures in the same genre to help me along.

So my recommendation to other writers, if feeling the blockage in the brain, look at pictures within the area you are writing. You might find something to jumpstart.

So, maybe a picture is worth a thousand words.  I’ll have to let you know if I get a thousand out of that one picture….

Writing on

~K.L.B

Leave a Reply

