The Poet Alludes Me At Times

feist:I feel it all

Image by visualpanic via Flickr

Writing poetry is hard.  Or at least it is for me.  I had my first brush with it back when in grade school.  All my first attempts came out as limericks.  And not terribly good ones at that.  Course, how many good limericks do you know?  Later on I remember writing about a caterpillar, and it was in rhyme as well.  That was it until a few years ago.  Oh sure, I did little bits here and there for birthday cards, but none of them were terribly good.

Then I happened upon a book called Poemcrazy: freeing your life with words by Susan Goldsmith Wooldridge.  That book has changed my life.  It got me to be open to free form poetry.  I get that it doesn’t always have to rhyme now for it to be beautiful.  I was stuck in this rut, so to speak, of only rhyming.  I still believe that the best poetry to read, rhymes, but I certainly enjoy writing free form.

It just doesn’t always come to me.  Sometimes, like last night when I wrote Beginning, on my other blog, it hits and I’m in a wonder that I came up with anything.  Other times I struggle and work and futz with all the words, only to scrap the poem, and hide it away in my journal or notebook.  Sure, I’ve tried revisiting something I’ve written, but rarely can I finish it.  If I am going to write poetry, I have to finish it in one sitting to feel satisfied with it.  Otherwise it looses its magical quality and I can’t seem to gain it back.  The only time I haven’t had that problem is if the poem is something in rhyme for children.  I can do that.  But if it is tackling an emotion, I have to get it all out at once.

So, here I’ve been trying to write about how I feel, or what it feels like, to see the clouds billowing up in the summer, over the mountains.  Bringing rain and thunder. Sometimes lightning and forest fires.  The scent of the warm, soft breeze.  I can get words down, but then the words allude me as to fitting them all together.

Now, another thing I’ve found about poetry.  I like collecting words, though I don’t do it all the time.  However, much of the time, the reason I like a word is because of the phrase it was used in.  For instance, the song ‘Clocks’ by Coldplay.  I love the phrase ‘shoot an apple off my head’.  Now, the word apple is one I like, but it’s the phrase that makes it magical.

Another is ‘on my head the water pours’, from Feist’s “I Feel It All”.  The quality of the word water, looses it’s feel once you take it out of the phrase.

Now there are some words that are just fun to say.  Thither.  I love that word even though I never use it.  Or have never found a place to use it.  But most of the words I collect, I have collected because I like the phrasing…..

What to do….

Writing on

~K.L.B.

 

Leave a Reply

