Spur of the Moment Story

Downtown Ashland, OR

I love it when things just come together.  This last weekend Wild Child and I spent the day in the glorious (her word) town of Ashland, Oregon.  I absolutely love that town.

Well, while there I purchased a hat.  A ‘glorious’ pumpkin orange cloche hat. I’ve been wanting a hat for ages and now I have one.  The hat and experience gave me just the right setting for a story.  So, in a matter of a few hours, yesterday and today, I was able to crank out a children’s picture book story about a girl who buys a hat with her best friend. I borrowed Wild Child’s name as the friend. 

Mine is way cuter than that , but I needed a hat picture.

You could say the story was me, as it follows some of my trials in finding a hat, but really, if you think about writing, the best way is to write what you know.  I know what it’s like to try to find a hat for a decent price and the right color. 

I’m so happy with this story, and it’s very girly and little girl oriented.  I tend to write for little girls because I am such one myself.  Hopefully I can add this to the stack of stories for publishing at some point.  Obviously it will need some basic editing and I will send it off to a friend or two for review.  Also, Mrs. Day will get a chance to read and edit it.  If there is one person who knows children’s stories, it’s her.

I wish I could pick the illustrator for my books.  I saw a great book the other day in Ashland, called Tallulah’s Tutu by Marilyn Singer.  I didn’t actually read the book, but I would like to at some point.  The thing that caught my attention was the illustrations.  The illustrator is Alexandra Boiger, and her watercolor illustrations are amazing.  I can certainly see her style for this book, as well as the other one that has the query letter written for it.

But, as far as I know, the publisher picks the illustrator.  Maybe the writer has a chance to voice opinion, but for now, I think the publisher does the picking.

Well, I’m excited about my accomplishment.  It’s not often I finish a book, so when I do, I’m all excited.

Writing on

~K.L.B.

Leave a Reply

