In A Funk

I’m in a writing funk right now.  Funk isn’t my word, but George‘s.  I like it though.  It feels more deep than just writer’s block.  I actually can’t claim writer’s block at all because I have a host of ideas.  I have tons of ideas floating around in my head right now. I just don’t have the inclination to write. 

When you feel out of sorts or ill, like I have, getting into a groove of writing  fails.  Pain is an excellent deterrent as well.  That being said, I haven’t stopped writing per say.  It’s just different.  Replying to emails is sometimes just as important.  Living is crucial to writing.  YOu can’t give up your whole life to just write.  Because a writer has to live to even know what to write.  So life can be an inspiration to writing.  Now, off-hand, I can’t say as anything has inspired me this last couple of days.  But I’m trying to not let that bother me.

Sometimes when life changes, one goes through a bit of a depressing stage.  Because the family business is a seasonal one, the changes this time of year, when certain things stop and expectations weren’t met, we all go through this funk.  While mine is manifesting itself in a decided lack of good writing, for others it comes in different forms. 

I know I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, but at the same time, I can’t just let up on myself.  I can’t just say I’m in a funk and let myself wallow.  It would be easy to let myself do that.  However, if I let a bit of pain or change throw me off, i might as well throw up my hands and just give up this writing thing.   Yeah.  Not gonna happen.  As much as I may feel lost on some things, I can’t just throw my hands up.  I doubt I would be satisfied either.  Because I know I can’t stop writing. I love it too much.  Even if only a handful of people see my work, I can’t give it up.

So with all that being said, I hope my funk goes away.  I hope George’s does too.  I have to say it is helpful to know someone else is in a funk, and it isn’t just me.  Sympathy and empathy are wonderful things to have.  And I’ve gotten a slew of emails to cheer me when this funk seems to be getting deeper.

Writing on

~K.L.B.

Leave a Reply

