Writer’s Inspirational Tools

I’ve been on a bit of a groove-less non writing spree.  Okay, I know, that makes no sense.  Bear with me.  I just got no inspiration. (and yes, I know that ain’t grammatically correct)

I think sometimes writers could stand to have some inspiration come from somewhere else other than a  writing prompt or a picture, which seems to be the common thing online.  And sure, that’s great and all, but sometimes the mind needs a little hands on approach.  So, thankfully, I stumbled upon some things I think are really cool in the hands on approach.

I was reading Caterpickles the other day, and one post caught my attention. The author let her daughter roll story cubes to write a story for the post of the day.  “It’s a Long weekend…” is the post’s title.  Well, I had never heard of these story cubes.  But I have to have them!

I looked them up and they Rory’s Story Cubes.  Nine dice with pictures on all sides meant to help you create a story.  Roll the dice, start off with the classic “Once upon a time…. and grab the first cube to start your story.  I love the idea.  Sometimes I feel like I am just lacking in inspiration, and this seems like something fun to have on a desk or open spot to just create.

Well, so, these cubes brought forth to mind something else I’ve seen recently.  Another dice thing, Haikubes are dice meant to unleash your inner haiku poet.  I’m not a person that’s ever tried haiku, but it interests me greatly.  I think having a bowl of these cubes on the desk is another way to inspire you to write something different and have a little fun in the process.

By the clothing and picture you can see it's 70's

 

Lastly.  Has anyone ever heard of Scrabble Sentence Cubes?  Yeah, well I doubt it was a very popular game, but it was from the 70’s.  Nineteen dice with words on them meant to be a game where you roll the dice and have to make as many sentences as you can like a crossword within the time limit.  First off, I’ve tried to play it that way, and it’s next to impossible.  So I can’t imagine it was a very popular game.

the word dice...

Well, my sister and I came up with our own version of the game.  (for those who may wonder, after reading about our version, my sister has downs syndrome, so, even though she is a year older than I am, her mind is still very much that of a child’s.)  Our version is to use all the dice to make one sentence.  No regards to rules of grammar and punctuation. Just use all the dice.  We have spent many hours of hilarious sentence making, and while it produces no finished product, no written results, the sheer silliness of the game is something that takes you out of reality.

For those of you interested in what sentences can be made from these dice, I asked my sister to roll the dice three times last night, and these are the three sentences she made up.

I want it small heart clean big beast the lady ate down him slow not kiss what can off.

They got their small lady baby foot taste some hard love which had us old but at out big.

Our baby face ran slow but we are black and them hear which love soft leg down big no.

See what I mean?  No sense at all, but you try reading those and not cracking up.  I usually try to break up pronouns and prepositions, but my sister delights in sticking groups together at times.  All I know is, again, while it may not produce anything of written worth, the ‘game’ is fun.

I’m hoping I can get my hands on both the story cubes and the Haikubes sometime soon.  Both fun and inspirational, sometimes I think I need to roll the dice and see where the story may take me.

Writing on

~K.L.B.

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Inspirational Tools

  1. I love it! Your sister’s game sound hilarious. I’ll have to try it with The Four-Year-Old. I’d never heard of Haikubes, but they sound fun too.

    Another fun game to play if you should ever happen to have friends around in a storytelling mood is to write a group story. One person throws out a sentence, the next person builds on it and so forth until you’ve gone around the circle and everyone’s had a shot. (Or until you’ve completed the story, which I find takes multiple rounds.)

    This game translates pretty well to Facebook, as I learned when a friend of mine threw out the prompt “Tell me a story” and a bunch of us chimed in with one or two sentences at a time.

    PS. Thanks for visiting/mentioning Caterpickles. It made my day!

Leave a Reply

