I’m Broadening My Horizons

I wasnt’ sure where to post this next post, so it is going here. I suppose it should be over on Kate’s Bookshelf, but I just dont’ want to.

Virginia Woolf (1882–1941) English: Portrait o...

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve started reading things other than some of the mainstream authors.  Broadening my horizons, so to speak.  I was listening to Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Leviathan and Salinger’s Franny and Zooey was mentioned. I decided that even though I didn’t like Catcher in the Rye, (couldn’t get past the first page) I wanted to try this.

Along with that, I was watching Easy A last night and Sylvia Plath‘s The Bell Jar, was mentioned.  While I know who she is, more from a Joshua Radin song, I’ve never read any of her work. 

Sylvia PlathSylvia Plath also brought to my mind the fact that I have never read any Virginia Woolf.  So, one of hers, or maybe two of hers are on hold with my library, along with the other ones I’ve mentioned.

From BookMooch I have On Being Ill by Virginia Woolf, in my wishlist. I Frannyzoey.jpgactually wanted to read that after a blip in The Writer’s Guide to Writing.  I just wasn’t willing to spend the money on a copy, and there were no copies available through my library system. 

Rarely do I like to own books unless I’ve first read them, Harry Potter and the Twilight Saga being exceptions. (I purchased some of those before reading because I knew you couldn’t go wrong)  So, I don’t really want to go out buying Plath, Salinger, and Woolf unless I know what the book is actually about and whether or not I will read them.

For me, this is a big step in comfort zone.  I usually avoid ‘classic’ authors due to some really bad books I’ve tried. I don’t finish a book unless I enjoy the first 50 pages, or less, but I’m trying something new.

I think Louise Jacque’s post on How Austen Prejudiced Me, sort of spurred me to try some new things.  I want to try other works of literature. And not just the Dostoyevsky (which I really have no desire at all) or the Tolstoy. (no, I really have no desire for that either)  There are plenty of American writers I’ve never read, and there are plenty from other countries too.  People have been writing for ages. There are so many books out there.  So, I have to try to not be afraid to try something new.

And on one last note I have one other new author I’m trying. Maya Angelou.  I’ve seen little blips of her poetry from some of the blogs I follow and I’ve wondered about her writing.  Well, last week there was a copy of her poetry for sale at my library last week. I snatched it up and I couldn’t have been happier.  I am amazed at her depth of feeling you can read in her words.  There is pure magic in her poetry.  I think she may become one of my more favorite poets.  And I can’t claim to liking that many.  I like many poems by different people, but there are only a few I can say I love.  I look forward to reading more of her works.  In small sittings, but still.

So, stepping off the cliff to the unknown.  At least with this type I don’t need a parachute.

Writing on

~K.L.B.

2 thoughts on “I’m Broadening My Horizons

  1. Oh I do encourage you to try Woolf and Plath! “The Bell Jar” is nothing but exquisite in every way, and Woolf is easily one of my favourite authors of all time. I’d recommend starting with “To The Lighthouse,” followed by “Mrs Dalloway.” However, “The Waves” is, in my opinion, her greatest work, but perhaps best enjoyed after you have gotten used to her unusual writing style. Best of luck! Thanks for mentioning me 🙂

  2. Pingback: Cryptoquote Spoiler – 02/22/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

