Not Writer’s Block Indulgence

I’m not dealing with writer’s block. I’m not in the blahs. I’m just not writing, much.  Haven’t felt the drive, though I did have a brainstorming session, so to speak, with my parents about butterflies at the beauty parlour.  I know, could you get any more girly than that?  I want to sit down and flesh it out and see if it can turn into anything.

I think it’s obvious most of my ideas for picture books seem to be super ultimate GIRL.  I wonder if I should feel bad about it, but for the most part, I don’t.  While I may not be pink bows and everything lace, girl, I am definitely a girly girl.  (there is a joke with my father that my idea of roughing it is having to walk barefoot through the hotel lobby) You can’t really get much more, um, prissy than that, I suppose.

There is a part of me that would like to write things boys will enjoy, and there have been a couple things that have turned out to be more boyish.  Mrs. Austen’s boys have confirmed that with enjoying a couple stories I sent her way.

So, while I haven’t had any writer’s block, I did feel the need to try out the Chocolate Cake in a Mug, from the Lantern Hollow Press blog.  Read the post HERE I was a bit sceptical that it would work, especially as I was mixing it up today.  I tried it when no one was around for fear of having to explain a mess.  Not to worry.  That has got to be the most amazing mini cake anyone can make!  I highly recommend it, and watch out, they were not kidding when they said that the smell of chocolate would induce people to come around looking for the item that smelled so good.

I couldn’t finish the cake myself, I just didn’t have the room, but wow was it decadent. I think it might have been missing frosting… Because what chocolate cake doesn’t have frosting, but I think had I tossed some of the chocolate chips on top instead of mixing them in, I would have had a gooey topping.  Next time.

So, while it didn’t induce me to write, other than this post, I recommend cake when you need some inspiration.

Below I am posting the original recipe.  I dare you to try it.

Chocolate Cake in a Mug

1 average sized mug

  • 4 Tbs plain flour
  • 4 Tbs white sugar
  • 2 Tbs cocoa powder
  • 1/2 beaten egg (yes, annoying, but just save the other half for another cake!)
  • 3 Tbs milk
  • 3 Tbs veggie oil
  • Splash of vanilla extract (if you use imitation, you make me very sad)
  • Handful of chocolate chips or any chunks of a good candy bar.  Be creative! (I use broken pieces of Swiss baking chocolate because it’s actually cheap here)

In your mug, mix up the flour, sugar, and cocoa powder (I use a fork).
Add the beaten egg.  (It will be a bit gummy.  No worries!)
Add the milk and oil.  (Now it looks like cake batter!)
Add a bit of vanilla.

Stir in your pieces of chocolate.  You might simply sprinkle them on top to keep them from sinking to the bottom, but I actually kind of like the melty, chocolatey bottom of my cake.  It’s up to you!

Stick your mug in the microwave.  My golden time was 2 1/2 minutes on medium setting.  You may find that more or less is needed.  You do NOT want to overbake it!  Fudgier is better.  The cake will rise up over the top of the mug while baking and will then sink back down a bit. Fear not.  This is normal.

(Warning: When you remove your mug of cake, your kitchen will begin to smell decadently of chocolate.  It may draw other members of your household into your immediate vicinity, so be prepared to defend your treat, unless you plan to share – which would be silly.)

For an extra flair, you can sprinkle powdered sugar on top, like I did, because I had it lying around.  Or maybe you have cool whip or vanilla ice cream available.  If nothing else, at least grab a glass of milk.

Let it cool a bit before eating! Remember that microwaves bake from the inside out so the middle will be very, very hot.

So, there you have it.  Please check out the original post.

Writing on
~K.L.B.

Leave a Reply

