Word Count Wrangling

My own work. Created using "Inkscape"...

My own work. Created using "Inkscape" software right from the scratch. Intented for counting the words (like edit count) of user contributions in personal pages. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was trying to come up with catchy titles for a post and while this may make one think of large amounts of words, it’s not.  No, my woes stem from spending time typing yesterday, getting finished with what I thought I could handle, then checking my word count.  I am not one of those types of people to constantly check my word count.  Most of the time I forget about it unless I’m typing a really long blog post and I want to see if I’m getting into ridiculous territory.

So, much to my chagrin yesterday, my word count for this Argentine tango story I’m working was not even one thousand words.  I stared at the 900+ words and went, “What?!”  I could have sworn I had typed at least 3000 words.  Apparently I wasn’t even close.  So, I lost my mojo and got a bit discouraged.  That discouragement has left me as I realized that it didn’t really matter how many words I had typed.  The important thing was I had sat down and typed.

I’ve spent the week making excuses as to why I can’t sit down and write, and why I don’t have time, and whatnot.  Most were not the greatest excuses.  Oh, sure, there were a few nights where after spending the day doing serious yard work, I was just too wasted to even think in terms of writing, but there were other days I spent time reading and doing Tumblr.. and other useless things.  I could have been writing.  And I probably would have had my word count up.

Again though, the amount of words wasn’t really necessary, so long as they counted.  And the words I typed yesterday, counted.  I’m happy that I have a semi basis for my story down.  I’ve gone into detail where normally I would have brushed it off.  I’m new to this short story writing.  So, I was happy with some of what I typed.  Sure, it’s going to need editing.  George! I will need your help!  Even I can see where it might need editing.  Rearranging, and various other little things.  This is more of a rough draft so to speak.  But hey, it’s something.  And hey, it’s not just little bits in my journal and notebook. It’s actually typed.

So, I did accomplish something. Maybe I didn’t write a thousand words. But I’m okay with that.

Writing on

~K.L.B.

One thought on “Word Count Wrangling

Leave a Reply

