I Want To Edit!

Edited Version of First Book

Get me my red pen, I want to edit! (Edited Version of First Book (Photo credit: TheCreativePenn)

I am an impatient person by nature, so it should come as no surprise that I am actually dying to edit one of my stories.  This is a picture book I completed back in the first week of July. It is in the ‘drawer’ right now, sitting and maturing, waiting for me to fix it up.  But it’s only been a month.

That maturing thing needs to go a little longer in my book, no pun intended, and a month is not it.  I’ve never actually felt like this before, and I kind of like it.  I feel like I have something important that I need to get done and I don’t want to wait.

I wrote another picture book last August, typed it out in about an hour or so, and it was in the drawer for about five months.  I really didn’t think about it much during that time because I wasn’t using it for submission.  I had something else I was working on and I figured I would get to it later.  For those who have seen the finished product, which is few, this book I lovingly refer to as Lulu. (it’s part of the title, and if and when I get it accepted by an agent, I’ll go into more detail. Right now it’s hush hush)

I think the only reason that right now the current PB (picture book) is on my mind is because I loved writing it.  Oh sure, I enjoy all the things I write, but I mean, I really loved writing this last PB.  I am so anxious to fix it up and send it out to Caterpickles for review by Shala and The Five Year Old.  They received an ‘advance’ copy of Lulu and fell in love with it.

That has been one of the best things about this writing experience. That little fact that someone really enjoyed something I wrote and wanted to read it again and again.  I have to say it is the biggest thrill I’ve had.  Okay, in a weird sort of way getting my first rejection letter was a thrill, but I don’t count it as quite the same…

So anyway, I’m impatient to edit.  Does anyone else ever feel this way?  Dying to get back to something that you haven’t looked at in a while?

Writing on

~K.L.B.

One thought on “I Want To Edit!

  1. Dear Kate,
    Why are you resisting editing this “wanted” manuscript? How much longer are you going to wait? Sometimes a month is all you need to wait. You need to honor those feelings inside. Go with your instincts.
    Celebrate you today.
    Joan Y. Edwards

Leave a Reply

