I Am Not A Writer

And right now I am not one.

Whew!  I’m glad I got that out.  I’ve been holding it in for a while and it’s just been eating at me.

What’s this, you say?  She’s not a writer?  But she’s writing.  She must be a  writer.  She manages a writing blog.

Well, what I mean to say is that I’m not a writer right now.  This past couple of weeks has down a number on me and when I finally come  in to wind down, I’m so tired writing is the farthest thing from my mind.  Nope, I have not written much of anything other than a blog post.  Or maybe two.

See, right now I’m a farmer. Waterer. Berry picker.  Weeder.  I’m out all day and when I come in, writing is not really what I want to be doing.  Heck, I’m not even reading much.

Now that being said, while I might not be writing, in the classical sense of the word, I still write.  How?  In my head.  The things I work on require little thought, so while spending 4 hours picking raspberries, my mind has time.  Lots of time to think.  So I spend it writing in my head.  Playing out scenarios and characters.  Connecting plots, though that is still a challenge, and trying to congeal certain things into something more formed.

Since being busy like this, I have actually been able to connect all my characters of my several ‘books’ so that they are linked, since that is one thing I love about certain other writers. I love reading one book, going on to the next by the same author and having a link of some sort to the characters.  And I’m not talking just a series, but random stories that are linked.

I do attempt to sit down and write it down somewhere so that I have an idea of where my thoughts have gone, so yes, I am writing in that sense.  My journal has been getting a fair amount of action in the scope of things, but actual stories? Nada.  And nothing on letters and agents.

I think for me, summer is not the time to write.  So what’s my excuse for all the rest of the year?

Writing on

~K.L.B.

One thought on “I Am Not A Writer

  1. Pingback: Summer Writing Challenge Check-in: Week 5 | I just don’t know how to say no | Write on the World

Leave a Reply

