The Fates Are Against Me or Clearly I’m Nuts

For the past few years I’ve been writing quite a bit, looking up grammar questions online, but not enjoying that version of information at all. What I have needed was my mother’s Hodges’ Harbrace College Handbook.  All grammar all the way. It has everything you could ever want to know about grammar. However, the handbook has been packed away in storage for heaven knows how long and I had no idea what box it was in.

Three Harbrace editions.

Three Harbrace editions.

Okay, so I had had enough of that. ‘I need a Harbrace’, I tell myself. I’ve had enough of trying to Bing grammar questions. I pull up Bookmooch.com and hunt for a decent edition of the Harbrace. And I find an eleventh edition, whereas my mom’s was a 7th edition. (there are a lot of editions.) I order the book, and within a couple of weeks I have a Harbrace! Finally.  I can now answer all those questions about how many commas do I need, and does that adverb work there.

Fast forward two weeks.  My family and I are purging. Deleting, as I like to call it. It’s where we go through all our things in storage and start to eliminate. First order of business are all the book boxes.  You can guess where I’m going with this, right?  You guys are all smart people and you know what I am going to say.

Yep, I found my mom’s Harbrace.  It wasn’t very far into the book boxes, unsurprisingly if you consider Murphy’s Law.  So, now I have two Harbraces. Granted, my new one is in much better condition than Mom’s, who’s cover is falling off in parts.

Now, fast forward to a week ago. Yep, the fates really were conspiring against me. I stopped into my library and there in a box of donations is a 5th edition Harbrace. A nice blue cover, very good condition, and with a local name as the owner inside the cover. I brought it home just to show my family and laugh about it… But I think I am actually going to keep it.  I know, I know, why would I need three?  Honestly, right now I don’t need three, but I love each edition. Though the 5th edition is actually my favorite because it is blue and the inside marks are all blue.  So it’s calming whereas the other two have red as their main color. (I hate red for the most part)

Honestly, I think it’s hilarious that three copies have fallen into my lap when all I needed was one. Had I waited a month longer, I wouldn’t have needed to use Bookmooch to find a copy. Oh well.  So for now, I have three.

On a side note, I highly recommend owning a Harbrace if you write.  It has essential information regarding basic grammar, along with word spelling and misspelled words. They are compact little books, being only about 5 by 7 inches and about an inch thick. They are take along books with a ton of information.

So then, me and my nuts like book issues.

Writing on

~K.L.B.

Leave a Reply

