Life, as we write it…

William Faulkner's Underwood Universal Portabl...

William Faulkner’s Underwood Universal Portable sits in his office at Rowan Oak, which is now maintained by the University of Mississippi in Oxford as a museum. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Honestly, I’m not exactly sure why I am writing over here at Escaping the Inkwell since for some time I’ve thought of discontinuing using it. I post most of my thoughts over on Kate’s Bookshelf, including my life in writing these days. But I just wanted to take a moment and vent a little.

Right now I am busy busy with Writer’s Digest’s PAD Challenge (Poem a Day). I have kept up my flash fiction and general writing. I try to write a post a week, or in this case, every day. It’s exhausting at times and I wonder why I decide to do it halfway through a challenge. I’m not really there yet, but I feel the burned out.  I feel it creeping up on me as I struggle to know where to take my writing. I start a piece of fiction and I don’t know what to do with it. I have a selection of poetry and I don’t know where to go with it.

I have things to send to literary magazines and literary agents. But I’m feeling the burn….(does that make anyone else think of Bernie Sanders? I have to admit, I love the ‘Feel the Burn/Bern” of that slogan.)

I’m waist deep in Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I found a copy floating around and started reading it having seen the first two episodes of the show. It’s been on my to-read list for a year or so, but I didn’t know I would get sucked into her work. I am so sucked in that I now know what my summer will be spent reading. The rest of the series.

But it’s also bumming me out because I cheated and skipped ahead by looking on wikipedia on what the second book is about. I can’t believe Diana is going to do what I’m reading she does! How could Claire and Jamie not spend the rest of their lives together? How could she rip the two apart for twenty years?!!!!

But while being bummed, I’m excited to read the second book. And I’m inspired to keep writing because while I feel like I’m not going anywhere with my writing, Diana wrote Outlander at 35. Or had it published. Bla bla. I’m not to 35. I have a year and one month. You can write a novel in one year. And I have several things started.I can do this.

I hope.

So this is just me being a little morose. And tweaked. I’m also tweaked because I really wouldn’t mind meeting a guy like Jamie Fraser… and there ar eno men like Jamie Fraser around here. At least, that I know of.

Kate

3 thoughts on “Life, as we write it…

  1. Reblogged this on Kate's Bookshelf and commented:

    I wrote this piece, venting, over at my long lost ‘writing site’. I haven’t written on Escaping the Inkwell in ages. Years actually. I thought it high time, partly because I didn’t want to vent and fill up Kate’s Bookshelf. But you can read my moody post buy clicking over.

Leave a Reply

