Real Writing Vs. Blogging

Do you ever find yourself thinking and worrying more about what to post in your blog instead of your actual writing? I’m finding I have that trouble at times. I like to write off and on throughout the week, but completion of things seems to only come when I write a blog post.

Granted, novels and books do take time, and finishing them is a long process. Also, I’ve yet to get on a role with the novel thing. I play more at that, so it’s not the end of the world if I don’t finish it. However, it is probably more crucial to focus on writing a novel than a blog, right?

I think this is where Albert Berg’s post on Eat Your Lima Beans: The Importance of Becoming the Writer You Aren’t    is very true.   The ‘lima bean’ part is actually writing. (for those of you that read this blog of mine, I quote Albert quite a bit. Or refer to him, including already using this post of his in a post of mine) Oh, and by the way, I don’t like turnips and most mushrooms.  I’ll eat lima beans gladly.

Writing is actually a chore at times.  Okay, maybe the writing isn’t the chore. It’s the sitting down and making time to write and focusing on writing what you really need to write, not what you want to write.  This is actually kind of funny too, because most of the time I want to be writing my novels and children’s stories.  I just don’t.

I need to be in my groove.  The problem is, rarely am I in my groove.  Distraction and millions of other things well, distract me.  I’m forever putting off the writing, and when the end of my week comes around for the Post A Week 2011 comes around, I focus on a blogging instead of writing.

This probably isn’t a wise thing.  I need to start making myself get down and dirty and tackle the crucial aspects.  The query letter to the agent I found, but have put off writing.  I had it all set in January, but lost my focus, and I have yet to rework it despite the desire to do so.  I’m sure I have posted this before, but writing that query isn’t easy.  Even if I know what I want to say, selling yourself is hard if you are not that type of person.

I have children’s book ideas rattling around in my head.  I need to make time to sit and plot them out.  Those should be easy as they are only between 500 and 1000 words.  Why would I put it off?  It’s work.  No one likes work, but it is a part of life.

And apparently, as writers, we have to, well, write.  We have to work at it.  I’m getting why writers say that sometimes they don’t like to write.  It’s much more fun to have that daydream world where you think about your ideas and you don’t have to get them out onto paper.

Well they say the first step to improvement is acceptance of a problem.  Hi, my name is Katie Lyn, and I have a problem with sitting down and writing.

Whew, I feel so much better now.

On a side note, I did make time to work on something that was rolling around in my brain since yesterday morning.  It might not be much, but every little bit is a start.

Writing on

~K.L.B

One thought on “Real Writing Vs. Blogging

  1. Pingback: Ever feel like a fraud? « Authoress Inspired

Leave a comment